The Dry Tortugas and Fort Jefferson

The Dry Tortugas are a cluster of seven islands located about 70 miles west of Key West in the Gulf of Mexico. The seven islands that make up the Dry Tortugas are Garden Key, Loggerhead Key, Bush Key, Long Key, East Key, Hospital Key, and Middle Key. This area is famed for its bird and marine life as well as its rich history involving pirates and the US military. The Dry Tortugas are also a National Park, and you cannot get there by car; these islands are only accessible by boat or seaplane.

[Read more...]